Clergy & Staff

Senior Leadership

Rabbi Locketz_2018-11-07 14.17.14

David L. Locketz - Senior Rabbi

rabbi.locketz@betshalom.org
Bio

When I began to look for the kind of congregation in which I wanted to be a rabbi, it was important to my wife Debbie and me that it be a congregation in which we wanted to be members. In addition to having a senior rabbi who would be a mentor and from whom I could learn, we wanted to find a synagogue that was warm, welcoming, menschy, and full of people and programs.

We were looking for Bet Shalom – and we found it. Bet Shalom has so much to offer, from tot programming and preschool, to a vibrant Religious School, to terrific adult programming opportunities. The breadth of what happens during the year here is truly remarkable. This community has heeded the prophetic call to make a place of “worship for all people.” Bet Shalom is a place of worship, of religious action, and of community. It is a wonderful place.

I am proud to be one of your rabbis and look forward to sharing with you in all that life brings.

Shalom, Rabbi Locketz

Jill E. Crimmings - Associate Rabbi

rabbi.crimmings@betshalom.org
Bio

My rabbinic journey started while working as a teacher in the religious school at Bet Shalom. At that time, I experienced what it felt like to be openly welcomed and embraced, both as a member of the teaching staff and also as a member of the congregation. The sense of community and passion for Jewish life at Bet Shalom is what inspired me to apply to rabbinical school.

My experiences at Bet Shalom stayed with me throughout my time at HUC-JIR, and I feel so blessed that my path led me back to this incredible congregation. I am honored to have the opportunity to participate in, and help lead, such a warm, vibrant, and joyful community.

Shalom, Rabbi Crimmings

Rabbi Cohen

Norman M. Cohen - Rabbi Emeritus

rabbi.cohen@betshalom.org
Bio

Coming to Bet Shalom in 1981 as the congregation was in its genesis was a dream come true. To be a founding rabbi is a rare opportunity. Being a partner in creating a community such as we have built over the years has been a fulfilling part of my Rabbinic career.

In 2015, I was honored to become the Rabbi Emeritus. It was a transition that reminds me of my family status change from parent to grandparent. I have a Rabbinic study at Bet Shalom where I invite you to schedule some time with me. I would love to offer you a signed copy of the book I wrote about the sacred architecture of the congregational home we built in 2002 and where we have grown into the dynamic community we are.

Bet Shalom remains an idealistic congregation with many more dreams and goals. The people who now lead it, beginning with Rabbi Locketz and the Board, have great vision and plans for the future.

Shalom, Rabbi Cohen

Cantor Richard Schwartz

Richard J. Schwartz - Cantor

richard.schwartz@betshalom.org
Bio

Cantor Richard Schwartz has served the needs of communities and individuals for over 25 years as a cantor, spiritual leader, B’nai Mitzvah program director, Jewish music and liturgy consultant, choral conductor, song leader, composer, arranger, and concert performer and producer.

Steve_2018-11-07 14.17.14

Stephen Barberio - Executive Director

steve.barberio@betshalom.org
Bio

Steve Barberio has been a successful nonprofit leader, arts producer, and consultant for more than 30 years. He’s served as head of several major arts organizations and community nonprofits across the country, most recently as the Executive Director of Joy of Motion Dance Center in Washington, D.C. He now serves as the Executive Director of Bet Shalom Congregation in the Twin Cities.

Sarah Lipsett-Allison

Sarah Lipsett-Allison z"l - Cantor Emerita

Bio

Cantor Sarah Lipsett-Allison z”l began serving Bet Shalom Congregation in 1997.  In 2006, she completed the Cantorial Certification Program under the auspices of both the School of Sacred Music (Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion) and the American Conference of Cantors. She was Bet Shalom’s first Cantor.

Staff

Lori Banker, Financial Manager
lori.banker@betshalom.org | 952-426-6645

Marilyn Ruby, Executive Assistant to the Rabbis
marilyn.ruby@betshalom.org | 952-426-6646

Amy Yoelin, Communications and Membership Coordinator
amy.yoelin@betshalom.org | 952-426-6658

Kayla Martin, Event and Program Coordinator
kayla.martin@betshalom.org

Amber Brumbaugh, Preschool Director
abrumbaugh@betshalom.org | 952-426-6652

Aly Jones, Preschool Assistant Director
aly.jones@betshalom.org | 952-426-6651

Rachel Calvert, Youth Engagement Coordinator
rachel.calvert@betshalom.org | 952-426-6643

Ali King, Religious School Assistant Director
ali.king@betshalom.org | 952-426-6649

Jake Levine, Youth Program Director

Edward Krzmarzick, Facilities Manager
edward@betshalom.org

Eileen Rosenthal, Assistant Facilities Manager
eileen.rosenthal@betshalom.org